top of page

Greater Service, Greater Progress.
Founded in 1922 at Butler University

Shield- Sigma Gamma Rho.jpg


The Eta Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was founded in 1923 by Past National President Fannie O’Bannon. The original chapter name was Gamma chapter chartered at the Old Atlanta University. The chapter name was changed to the Eta Sigma chapter in 1929. Past National President, Evelyn Hawkins Hoods is currently a member of the Eta Sigma Chapter. The signature project is the Debutante Ball, which the chapter has hosted for over 50 years, and presented over 1,000 young ladies to society. The chapter is one of the oldest chapters in the Southeast Region. The chapter advises Spelman College, Clark Atlanta University, and the University of West GA. This chapter has a rich heritage in the Atlanta area. 

Zeta Alpha


The Zeta Alpha Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was chartered on April 2, 1985, with 11 members, and became the second chapter of the organization in the Atlanta Area. Based in College Park, Georgia, the ZAS Alumnae Chapter serves as the advising chapter to Omicron Gamma at Georgia State University. ZAS is the proud sponsor and facilitator for Growing into Womanhood, a chapter project that mentors inner-city girls. The members of ZAS celebrate over 20 years of achievement and excellence through progressive community service efforts. We continue to make Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. a presence in East Point, and College Park communities by providing Greater Service, Greater Progress. 

Shield- Alpha Phi Alpha
Shield- Alpha Kappa Alpha
Shield- Kappa Alpha Psi
Shield- Omega Psi Phi
Shield- Delta Sigma Theta
Shield- Phi Beta Sigma
Shield- Zeta Phi Beta
Shield- Sigma Gamma Rho
Shield- Iota Phi Theta
bottom of page